Skip to content
4 July 2009 / dublinknitters

this is how rumours get started…

I was walking along Rathmines Road this morning and passed by the old Lifeboat Charity Shop which has been empty and unoccupied for some time now. I thought I was seeing a mirage…

I took a closer look…

and yes it is definitely yarn! I spotted Hazbo at the bus stop and showed her what I saw in the shop window. She was able to confirm that IT is YARN which must have appeared overnight since it was not there yesterday.

Upon closer inspection, I noticed that this yarn is organic and Fairtrade…

So please confirm our suspicions…is there going to be a new yarn shop in Rathmines????

7 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. europilote / Jul 4 2009 19:14

    I just moved to the area on the 1st of July (I’m from Canada) and I started googling last night to see what kind of yarn stores there were in Dublin and was quite disappointed to see that there are barely any 😦 And then today I’m walking down the st. and notice the same thing that you did and I was all excited but unsure as to whether I’d missed it the other days and it was just a store that had closed. Weeee, it must be true!! 🙂

  2. G / Jul 4 2009 19:29

    God, I hope so, though my bank-account may have something else to say on the matter. It’s a lovely spot for a yarn shop though, plenty of footfall and a nice big space. 😀

  3. europilote / Jul 4 2009 19:41

    Hehe, I hear ya! I had to leave all my lovely yummy yarn at home(I’ve moved here for a year on a working holliday visa), my needles etc…I’m in withdrawl so this could be dangerous! Hmmm, maybe they would hire me…

    But yeah, great location, I can walk there in less than 10 minutes 🙂

  4. Thread Bear / Jul 4 2009 20:13

    I… want those needles.

  5. Susan / Jul 5 2009 13:30

    I saw that lovely wool as well.

    A planning application was granted there recently to convert the empty shop into a coffee shop.

    This is indeed how rumours start!

  6. mo / Jul 8 2009 9:07

    How exciting….. Rumour has it tat it might be some type of organic/green craft shop….. I also heard that there may be a full yarn shop coming to the Swan Centre in Rathmines….. will let you know if I hear any more

  7. Janet / Jul 8 2009 20:47

    Let’s hope those skeins of yarn in the window will multiply. It will be so handy – right near my lawn bowling club.

    Janet

Leave a Reply

